About Us

The Wellington Mathematics Association was formed in 1986 with the purpose of supporting the teaching and learning of Mathematics in education.  Over recent years the WMA has been focused around secondary schools.  We are currently widening this focus to include primary schools and tertiary institutes.  It is also hoped that WMA can involve industry partners and practitioners.  We aim to support both educators and students to achieve their full potential.


The WMA committee executive


David Amrein   (Aotea College)

Lynley MacEwan   (Tawa College)


John Mitchell    


Judy Randell   (Tawa College)




Membership is offered to schools and individuals and needs to be renewed (by payment) each year.  A school membership means any staff member from that school is a member.  

Schools are invoiced annually (if you haven't received an invoice, please contact the treasurer John Mitchel on wmatreasurer@aol.com).

Membership form is available here.


Life Members

2014  Mike Camden    

2015  Linda Van Milligan

2018  Derek Smith


Grants Policy

WMA has grants available through the Network of Expertise funding for professional development for teachers.

The policy can be found here.